Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Questions/problems on Docker
Post Reply
zwnk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:05 am

Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Post by zwnk » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:05 pm

Hi there,

i'm using the document server as a docker install combined with seafile. The dccument server version is 5.5.3.39.
The problem is that a document that was already edited was opened by another user and that version was a version from a couple of hours ago.
In what kind of situation can this happen?

Carl
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:00 am

Re: Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Post by Carl » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:36 pm

Hello,

Could you please describe the scenario of how the issue occured in more details? Keep in mind that document saving happens only after all users close the editor tabs. Maybe the file is still opened by some of the users?

zwnk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Post by zwnk » Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:02 pm

Assuming a user has the document open and another user opens it, shouldn't they work on the same document?

More details:
error_onlyo.jpg
error_onlyo.jpg (202.05 KiB) Viewed 358 times
this is the history overview of the file in question. the edits are consistent until user3 saves the file. there a version is saved that does not have any of the edits of user1 and 2 inside.

zwnk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Post by zwnk » Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:55 pm

we still have this problem. the document server overwrites changes done by users with an old version of the document when multiple users work on the same document.

zwnk
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Newer Version of Document misses edits from prev. version

Post by zwnk » Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:11 pm

i did some testing and think i found out how this error occurs.

1. i created a document and shared it with a second user
2. i opened the document way before (1h) the second user opened it.
3. i did some changes and kept the window open
4. after like an hour user2 opened the document did changes and closed it
5. like an hour later i did some changes to the document in the tab that was still open and overwrote with this all changes the user did.

is there any way to prevent this? like setting a timeout and close the document server connection after 5 min. inactivity?

Post Reply