Basic question on document upload and workflow

Post Reply
eric.chabah
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:33 am

Basic question on document upload and workflow

Post by eric.chabah » Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:45 am

Hello,
I am a complete beginner and I have not found the answer to my question on the online help, nor the FAQ

I uploaded an Office document to OnlyOffice, and we updated it during a collaborative work session,
then I locked the document in exclusive access, and downloaded it to my PC.

I had no access to OnlyOffice for a week, and edited the downloaded document with Office on my PC.
I now have access to the OnlyOffice server again, and wish to upload this edited document, and replace the previous version with this one.

Is this possible, and if so, how is it done ?
If it is not possible, what should I do ?

Thanks for your answers.

George
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 12:16 pm

Re: Basic question on document upload and workflow

Post by George » Tue Aug 25, 2020 12:40 pm

Hello Eric,

You can achieve this by doing the following:

Go to your Document module => Settings => Turn on 'Update the file version for the existing file with the same name'.

After this a new version of the old file with the same name will be created and all the changes from the updated document will be added to this new version. The old versions will still be available in the version list.

Post Reply